Texas physicians need 48 CME credits every 24-month registration period, and at least 24 must be formal Category 1 or 1A. Two formal hours must be in medical ethics or professional responsibility every renewal. Physicians who see patients also need 2 hours of pain management and opioid prescribing (at the first two renewals, then every 8 years) and an HHSC-approved human trafficking course (first renewal, then every 6 years). All of it must be reported in CE Broker before you renew (22 TAC §161.35).
Texas CME requirements at a glance
| Requirement | Hours | Who | How often | Rule |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total CME | 48 credits (≥24 formal, ≤24 informal) | All physicians | Every 24-month registration period | 22 TAC §161.35(a) |
| Ethics / professional responsibility | 2 formal hours | All physicians | Every renewal | §161.35(a)(2)(B) |
| Pain management & opioid prescribing | 2 formal hours | Direct patient care | Within 1 year of licensure, next renewal, then every 4th (8 years) | Occ. Code §156.055; §161.35(a)(2)(C) |
| Human trafficking prevention | ≥1 hour, HHSC-approved | Direct patient care | First renewal period, then every 3rd (6 years) | Occ. Code §156.060; §161.35(a)(2)(A) |
| Forensic evidence collection (HB 47) | 2 hours, SASTF-approved, formal or informal | Emergency room setting (statute); urgent care (TMB guidance) | Licenses expiring Feb. 28, 2027 onward; no approved course yet | Occ. Code §156.057; §161.35(a)(3)(A) |
| Nutrition & metabolic health (SB 25) | 1 hour, formal or informal | All physicians | Licenses expiring May 2027 onward (TMB: on or after May 30, 2027) | Occ. Code §156.061; §161.35(a)(3)(B) |
| Life of the Mother Act (SB 31) | One-time TMB course | TMB's listed specialties | Once, in MyTMB (not CE Broker) | SB 31; TMB CE page |
What's new for 2026–2027
- CE Broker is mandatory for renewals on or after September 1, 2026. The free Basic account is enough, and TMB blocks online renewal until your status shows Complete. (TMB CE Tracking)
- Forensic evidence collection (HB 47): 2 hours, starting with licenses that expire February 28, 2027. The statute covers physicians "whose practice includes treating patients in an emergency room setting" (Occ. Code §156.057). Urgent care is included by TMB guidance, not the statute text, and what counts is where you work, not your specialty. Courses must be approved by the Governor's Sexual Assault Survivors' Task Force. No approved course exists yet, and CE Broker currently shows forensic reporting as temporarily disabled. If you don't work in an ER, file the "Not Working in an ER Setting" attestation in CE Broker. (22 TAC §161.35(a)(3)(A); Texas Register, Aug. 28, 2026)
- Nutrition & metabolic health (SB 25): 1 hour for all physicians each renewal, starting with licenses that expire in May 2027 (TMB: on or after May 30, 2027). Formal or informal credit counts, and the course must follow Texas Nutrition Advisory Committee guidelines. (Occ. Code §156.061; §161.35(a)(3)(B))
- Life of the Mother Act (SB 31): a one-time free course on pregnancy-related emergencies, taken only in MyTMB. Only TMB's course counts. It's not reported in CE Broker, and renewal is blocked until TMB shows it complete. Required for TMB's listed specialties: OB/GYN, maternal-fetal medicine, obstetric anesthesia, critical care OB/GYN, family medicine/practice, emergency medicine, urgent care–FP, pediatric EM, others on TMB's list, or ABOG/AOBOG certified. It isn't AMA Category 1, but it can be reported as ethics. (TMB CE page)
Formal vs informal CME
Formal (at least 24): AMA PRA Category 1 credit from ACCME or an ACCME-recognized state society, AAFP Prescribed, AOA Category 1-A, or TMA-approved. Informal (up to 24): self-study, hospital lectures, grand rounds and case conferences. (22 TAC §161.35(a)(1))
Ethics and overlaps
You need 2 formal hours of medical ethics and/or professional responsibility every renewal. Professional responsibility includes risk management, domestic abuse and child abuse. Human trafficking and pain/opioid courses also count toward ethics, and both count toward your 24 formal hours. CE Broker applies them automatically when you enter them in their own categories. (22 TAC §161.35(a)(2)(B))
Pain management & opioid prescribing
This applies only if you provide direct patient care. You need 2 formal hours within 1 year of license issuance, again at your next renewal, then every 4th renewal (every 8 years). TMB's example: done for the 2024 renewal, exempt in 2026, 2028 and 2030, due again in 2032. (Tex. Occ. Code §156.055; 22 TAC §161.35(a)(2)(C))
Human trafficking prevention
This applies only if you provide direct patient care. You need at least 1 hour from a course on HHSC's approved list, in your first renewal period after licensure, then every 3rd renewal (every 6 years). Even when it isn't due, CE Broker wants your most recent completion date. (Tex. Occ. Code §156.060; 22 TAC §161.35(a)(2)(A)) Free approved courses →
Carry-forward
You can carry up to 48 excess credits to the next registration period only, each in its own category. Required formal topics can't be carried forward. The rule excludes all §161.35(a)(2) credits: ethics, pain/opioid and human trafficking. TMB's web page names only ethics and opioid, so we follow the stricter rule text. (22 TAC §161.35(c)(2)-(3))
Exemptions & alternate compliance
- New licensees are exempt from the hours the first time they register. If your initial registration is under 24 months, no CE is due before your first renewal.
- Board certification or recertification within the prior 36 months (good for one registration), ABMS MOC / AOA OCC, or residency/fellowship (in training or finished within 6 months) covers the hours and ethics. None of these cover human trafficking, and whether they cover opioid depends on your specialty board. See TMB's CME Hours Requirement Chart.
- Written exemptions for catastrophic illness, military service of more than 1 year outside Texas, residence of more than 1 year outside the US, or good cause go through CE Broker at least 30 days before renewal. (CE Broker exemptions)
- Retired: exempt. Voluntary charity care: the rule requires 12 informal credits, even though TMB's web page lists it as exempt. (22 TAC §161.35(e))
Conditional specialty CME
- EMS off-line medical directors: 12 hours within 2 years, then 1 hour each renewal (Rule 169.12).
- Pain clinic personnel: 10 hours of pain CME each renewal (Rule 172.3).
- Tick-borne disease: encouraged, not required.
Before you renew
Report every course in CE Broker and wait for Complete. TMB won't open online renewal until it does. Also submit proof of lawful presence. See renewal dates & fees and how to report in CE Broker.
All rules & sources
| Requirement | Summary | Source |
|---|---|---|
| 48 total CME credits | 48 credits each 24-month registration period | 22 TAC §161.35(a) verified 2026-10-16 |
| 24 formal credits | At least 24 formal AMA PRA Category 1 / AOA 1-A credits; up to 24 informal | 22 TAC §161.35(a)(1) verified 2026-10-16 |
| 2 ethics / professional responsibility | 2 formal credits in medical ethics and/or professional responsibility every period; trafficking and pain/opioid courses may count | 22 TAC §161.35(a)(2)(B) verified 2026-10-16 |
| Human trafficking prevention (at least 1 hr) | Direct patient care only: at least 1 hour from an HHSC-approved course in the first renewal period after licensure, then every 3rd renewal (every 6 years). Counts toward formal and ethics. Not covered by board cert/MOC/residency | Tex. Occ. Code §156.060; 22 TAC §161.35(a)(2)(A) verified 2026-10-16 |
| Pain management & opioid prescribing (2 hrs) | Direct patient care only: 2 formal hours within 1 year of license issuance, again at the next renewal, then every 4th renewal (every 8 years) | Tex. Occ. Code §156.055; 22 TAC §161.35(a)(2)(C) verified 2026-10-16 |
| Forensic evidence collection (2 hrs) | 2 hours (formal or informal), SASTF-approved, for physicians whose practice includes treating patients in an emergency room setting (statute); TMB guidance also includes urgent care. Starts with licenses expiring Feb 28 2027. No approved course yet; CE Broker reporting temporarily disabled. Non-ER physicians file the Not Working in an ER Setting attestation | Tex. Occ. Code §156.057; 22 TAC §161.35(a)(3)(A) verified 2026-10-16 |
| Life of the Mother Act course (SB 31, one-time) | Life of the Mother Act: one-time free course in MyTMB on pregnancy-related emergencies for TMB's listed specialties (incl. OB/GYN, MFM, OB anesthesia, family medicine, emergency medicine, urgent care-FP, pediatric EM; ABOG/AOBOG). Only TMB's course counts. Not reported in CE Broker. Not AMA Category 1 but may be reported as ethics. Blocks renewal until complete | SB 31 (89th Leg.); TMB CE page verified 2026-10-16 |
| Pain clinic personnel (10 hrs) | 10 hours pain management CME biennially for pain management clinic personnel | 22 TAC §172.3 verified 2026-10-16 |
| Nutrition & metabolic health (at least 1 hr) | All physicians, every biennial renewal, licenses expiring on or after May 30 2027; formal or informal; content based on Texas Nutrition Advisory Committee guidelines | Tex. Occ. Code §156.061; 22 TAC §161.35(a)(3)(B) verified 2026-10-16 |
| EMS off-line medical director | 12 formal hours initially then 1 formal hour each renewal | 22 TAC §169.12 verified 2026-10-16 |
| Carry-forward | Max 48 excess credits, to the next registration period only, in their own category. Ethics, pain/opioid and human trafficking credits can't be carried | 22 TAC §161.35(c)(2)-(3) verified 2026-10-16 |
| Exemptions & alternate compliance | New licensees exempt at first registration; board cert/recert within 36 months, MOC/OCC, or residency (or within 6 months) cover hours and ethics but not human trafficking; written exemption requests through CE Broker 30+ days before renewal | 22 TAC §161.35(b),(d); Tex. Occ. Code §156.052 verified 2026-10-16 |
| Voluntary charity care | 12 informal credits per period (TMB page lists as exempt; rule controls) | 22 TAC §161.35(e) verified 2026-10-16 |
| CE Broker reporting | Renewals on/after Sept 1 2026 need an active CE Broker account (free Basic is enough) with all CE reported; online renewal is blocked until status shows Complete | TMB CE tracking verified 2026-10-16 |
Primary sources: TMB CE requirements · TMB CME Hours Chart · 22 TAC §161.35 (LII lags the Sept. 3, 2026 amendments) · Texas Register, Aug. 28, 2026 · Tex. Occ. Code ch. 156 · TMB: rule changes effective Jan. 9, 2025. Chapter 166 was repealed January 9, 2025; the CME rule is now 22 TAC §161.35. When TMB's page and the rule differ, we say so. If you're unsure, contact TMB Registrations ([email protected], 512-305-7030).
Texas CME requirements FAQ
How many CME hours does a Texas physician need?
48 credits every 24-month registration period. At least 24 must be formal (Category 1 or 1A) and up to 24 can be informal (22 TAC §161.35(a)).
Do Texas physicians need opioid CME every renewal?
No. Only physicians who provide direct patient care need it: 2 formal hours within one year of licensure, again at the next renewal, and then every fourth renewal (every 8 years).
How often is human trafficking CME required?
For physicians who provide direct patient care: in the first renewal period after licensure, then every third renewal (every 6 years), from a course on HHSC's approved list.
Can excess CME carry over in Texas?
Up to 48 excess credits can carry forward to the next registration period only. Ethics, pain/opioid and human trafficking credits can't be carried forward (22 TAC §161.35(c)(3)).
Does board certification satisfy Texas CME?
Board certification or recertification within the prior 36 months covers the hour requirement for one registration, and MOC/OCC or residency also qualify. They cover ethics but not human trafficking, and may or may not cover the opioid course depending on your board.
What counts as formal CME in Texas?
AMA PRA Category 1 credit (from ACCME or an ACCME-recognized state society), AAFP Prescribed, AOA Category 1-A, or TMA-approved credit.
Do new physicians need CME for their first renewal?
Newly licensed physicians are exempt from the hour requirement the first time they register. If your initial registration period was shorter than 24 months, you don't need CE before your first renewal. Topic courses with their own deadlines, such as the opioid course within one year of licensure, can still apply.
What is the nutrition CME requirement?
All physicians need 1 hour on nutrition and metabolic health, starting with licenses that expire in May 2027 (TMB: on or after May 30, 2027).
